Self Image.

Self Image.

This is a huge problem for our society. Many people (including myself) struggle with this. Often people look in the mirror and point out all the flaws that they see in themselves.

Too many freckles. Frizzy hair. Flat hair. Glasses. Extra skin. Wide shoulders. Big hands.

The list goes on forever. I guarantee if I asked you to look in the mirror and tell me something about yourself, the first thing you would tell me is something negative. Most people have such a negative connotation about themselves.

When I was going through my roughest times, I found myself eating. A lot of people go through this same thing.. It’s a human thing. Stress eating is so great– or not. I had always been thin. People always commented on how flat my stomach was. I really didn’t even notice I had gained wait until 40 pounds later. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not obese but I am not as thin as I used to be. It would be beneficial to lose a couple pounds. So that’s what I’m doing! I’m doing Farrell’s eXtreme Body Shaping. (*Disclaimer*: I am in no way trying to sell Farrell’s or talk you into doing it. Nor am I trying to turn you away from it. I am simply telling my story.)

Anyway. I had been doing Farrell’s for 5 weeks, and I get asked about 10 times a day if I like it. I’m not sure I would use the word like. I really don’t enjoy working out everyday until I feel like throwing up. Yeah I feel better about myself afterwords, and I can tell I am getting results, but it sucks. Eating healthy is hard, but it’s going to be worth it. I know it.

(I promise this story is going to help make my point, I’m not just talking out my ass.)

But, my wise people from Farrell’s reminded me that this is a journey to form habits. After the end of my 10 week session, I won’t want to eat like crap anymore. I’m finally realizing how much better I feel when I eat healthy. How much more energy I have. I’m doing this journey for me. To help improve my self image. There’s nothing more rewarding than seeing results and knowing all the hard work is paying off. The small victories are the best. Noticing your pants are a little more lose is a great feeling.

I’m doing this for me. Because I deserve to feel good about myself again. I deserve to look in the mirror and be happy with what I see. YOU DESERVE THAT TOO.

The moral of the story, is work on you. Do what it takes to be happy with what you see in the mirror. Realize that those small things you dislike about yourself can go away with a change in mentality. You have to embrace those things about yourself, because that’s what makes you, you! Those tiny imperfections make you perfect to someone. You are worth feeling good about yourself, even if it means changing your lifestyle.

Take the time to look in the mirror and accept yourself. Self image is 100% mental. You have to tell your brain that this is who you are and it’s not going to change. Sure, you can change things such as your weight, or your hair color, but your features will remain the same. Your personality is what makes you who you are, not what you see in the mirror.

Never pretend to be something you aren’t. Do not try to please others and change your personality. Please yourself, because this is your life. You are the one you have to live with everyday. The second you figure yourself out, accept you for who you are and quit pretending to be something you’re not, is when you will find peace with yourself.

If you wear sweatpants everyday, and don’t even own a pair of jeans; good for you! If you wear dresses everyday, and wouldn’t be caught dead in sweatpants; good for you! What you wear doesn’t define who you are. Personally, I am an advocate in jeans and a T-shirt. I strongly believe if someone truly likes me, they won’t care what I’m wearing. Clothes are superficial, personality is what makes someone fall in love.

Makeup is another huge topic when it comes to self image. I will be the first to tell you I feel better about myself when I’m wearing eyeliner and mascara but that’s all I wear. I have never been one to wear foundation or anything else but if you do that’s okay. Of course I want you to be happy with yourself without makeup on and embrace your bare face, but if wearing makeup makes you feel better about yourself, screw what anyone else says. Wear foundation and bright blue eyeshadow if you want too. This is your life, and you have to do what it takes to make yourself happy. If putting on makeup everyday makes you look in the mirror and be happy with what you see, it’s worth it. You should accept what you look like without it on, but it’s 100% okay to wear it. You can’t let other people’s opinion dictate what you do with your life, and with yourself. You have to do this for you. Many people think girls (or guys) wear makeup to please other people, but I bet if you asked anyone why they wear it, they do it for themselves.

You will never love someone else if you don’t love yourself first. Take the time to love you before you worry about finding someone else. The right person will come when it’s time, so until then work on yourself and being happy with who you are. You were made the way you are for a reason. Embrace every small imperfection. You are amazing.

Until next time–

xoxo

Leave a Reply

